Girl looking at X-rays, Girl doing chemistry, shot of a keyboard

School of Arts and Sciences

Communications, Humanities, and Languages (CHL)


Mission
The mission of the Department of Communications, Humanities, and Languages is to prepare our students to communicate effectively, to function in a variety of global cultures, and to understand the history and thought that have formed the present and will shape the future.

Vision
Communications, Humanities, and Languages is recognized as a department of distinction and a valued, integral component of the School of Arts and Sciences. We provide an engaging, interactive learning environment for student and community growth and a collegial, collaborative atmosphere for faculty.

Hours & Location
Monday - Friday: 7:30 am - 4:30 pm
Location: Founders Hall
Phone Number: (567) 661-2633

Interim Chair: Catherine Pratt
Office: FH 1094
Phone: (567) 661-2075
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Email: catherine_pratt@Owens.edu

Department Secretary: Melissa Crosby
Office: FH 1118
Phone Number: (567) 661-2633
Email: melissa_crosby@Owens.edu

Full-Time Faculty
Name Discipline Phone Extension
(567) 661-xxxx
Email
Susan Burris (Findlay) Pop Culture, Speech (567) 429-3630 susan_burris@owens.edu
Steve Culbertson History 7535 steven_culbertson@owens.edu
Carl Dietrich History 7479 carl_dietrich@owens.edu
Kathleen Geckeis German, ESL 2579 n/a
James Hodak Speech 7525 james_hodak@owens.edu
Ann Marie Jablonowski Speech 7079 annmarie_jablonowski@owens.edu
Leonard Kress Humanities, Philosophy 7678 leonard_kress@owens.edu
Beth Poulos History, Humanities 7058 beth_poulos@owens.edu
Catherine Pratt Speech 2075 catherine-pratt@owens.edu
Renton Rathbun Philosophy, Speech 2659 renton_rathbun@owens.edu
Eric Reed Speech 7073 eric_reed@owens.edu
Timothy Rice (Findlay) Humanities (567) 429-3673 timothy_rice@owens.edu
Andrea VanVorhis (Findlay) Spanish (567) 429-3632 andrea_vanvorhis@owens.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty (Toledo)
Name Discipline Phone Extension
(567) 661-5001 + ext.
Email
Elliot Adams Speech 1009 elliot_adams@owens.edu
Annette Barga ASL n/a annette_barga@owens.edu
Brittany Barhite ASL 1878 brittany_barhite@owens.edu
Anna Breider Spanish 1150 anna_breider@owens.edu
Jeri Burnett Speech n/a jeri_burnett@owens.edu
Dorrie Cramer-Rumple History, Humanities, Philosophy 1270 dorcas_cramerrumple@owens.edu
Nathan Crook Speech   nathan_crook@owens.edu
Yuriko Dickey Japanese 1319 yuriko_dickey@owens.edu
Andrew Douglas Speech 1467 andrew_douglas@owens.edu
Yifei Du Chinese   yifei_du@owens.edu
Brenna Dugan ESL   brenna_dugan@owens.edu
Mary Beth Durbin ASL    
John Dyer Speech (567) 429-3001 x8166 john_dyer@owens.edu
Zahra Enssaif ESL n/a zahra_enssaif@owens.edu
Stuart Fike History 1385 stuart_fike@owens.edu
John France Speech 1332 john_france@owens.edu
Elaine Green History 9420 elaine_green@owens.edu
Michael Greene History n/a Michael_greene3@owens.edu
Alden (Ed) Gross Speech, Philosophy 1058 alden_gross@owens.edu
Evan Hale Philosophy n/a evan_hale@owens.edu
Gail Hamilton Speech 1508 gail_hamilton@owens.edu
Jeanne Harmon Speech n/a Jeanne_Harmon@owens.edu
Anita Harris Speech n/a anita_harris@owens.edu
Robert Hastings Speech (567) 429-3001 x8040 robert_hastings@owens.edu
Amy Jeffers Humanities, Philosophy 1620 amy_jeffers@owens.edu
Sandra Lewinski Sign Language 1155 sandra_lewinski@owens.edu
Pat Linehan Speech 1776 patricia_linehan@owens.edu
Grace Lombard ASL n/a grace_lombard@owens.edu
Sheree Madison-Emery Speech n/a sheree_madisonemery@owens.edu
John Meadows Spanish 1874 john_meadows@owens.edu
Benjamin Miller Philosophy n/a benjamin_miller8@owens.edu
Richard (Nik) Monnin Philosophy n/a richard_monnin@owens.edu
Dan Myers Chinese 1932 dan_myers@owens.edu
Brigitte Norton-Odenthall French 1296 brigitte_noronodenthall@owens.edu
Zorayda Piña Spanish 9029 zorayda_pina@owens.edu
Robert Pook Philosophy n/a Robert_Pook@owens.edu
Tracey Pritts ESL   tracey_pritts@owens.edu
Leigh Rencurrell-Crespo ESL n/a Leigh_rencurrellcrespo@owens.edu
Orlando Reyes-Cairo Spanish 7835 orlando_reyescairo@owens.edu
David St. Aubin Philosophy 9258 david_stabuin@owens.edu
Bernhard Sulzer German   bernhard_sulzer@owens.edu
Beth Wasiner n/a 1903 beth_waisner@owens.edu
John Wegner History 9408 john_wegner@owens.edu
Ron Werdebaugh History, Humanities 9423 ronald_werdebaugh@owens.edu
Xueqing Zhang Chinese n/a xueqing_zhang@owens.edu
Nathan Ziegler ESL n/a nathan_ziegler@owens.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty (Findlay)
Teacher Discipline Phone Extension
(567) 429-3001 + ext.
Email
Kayla Gingrich Sign Language 8155 kayla_gringich@owens.edu
Lynn Mercer History 8085 lynn_mercer@owens.edu
Yumi Senour Japanese 8190 yumi_senour@owens.edu
Douglas Switzer Speech (567) 661-5001 x1179 douglas_switzer@owens.edu
Nathanthiel Umphress Humanities, Philosophy 8152 nathaniel_umphress@owens.edu

Courses Taught in the Department

AAS

  • African American History
  • African American Culture

ARB

  • Beginning Arabic I and II
  • Intermediate Arabic I and II

ASL

  • Beginning American Sign Language I and II
  • Intermediate American Sign Language I and II
  • Fingerspelling

CHN

  • Beginning Chinese I and II
  • Intermediate Chinese I and II

ESL

  • Basic Writing for ESL
  • Academic Writing for ESL
  • Basic Reading for ESL
  • Academic Reading for ESL
  • Oral Communication and Pronunciation
  • Academic Communication for ESL

FRE

  • Beginning French I and II
  • Intermediate French I and II

GER

  • Beginning German I and II
  • Intermediate German I and II
  • German Conversation

HIS

  • Western Civilization I and II
  • World Civilization I and II
  • American History I and II
  • The Civil War
  • History of Ohio
  • World War II
  • History of Women in America

HON

  • Critiquing Media and the Arts
  • Introduction to Critical Thinking
  • Great Readings: Ancient World to the Renaissance

HUM

  • Introduction to the Humanities
  • Asian Civilizations
  • Great Ideas
  • Models of Leadership
  • Leadership Development
  • World Religions

JPN

  • Beginning Japanese I and II
  • Intermediate Japanese I and II

PHL

  • Introduction to Philosophy
  • Principles of Ethics

PPC

  • Introduction to Popular Culture

RUS

  • Beginning Russian I and II
  • Intermediate Russian I and II

SPA

  • Hispanic Culture
  • Beginning Spanish I and II
  • Intermediate Spanish I and II

SPE

  • Introduction to Human Communication
  • Public speaking
  • Interpersonal Communication
  • Introduction to Mass Media
  • Introduction to Communication Theory
  • Small Group Communication

Concentrations Available In Our Department:

  • Communications Studies Transfer
  • History Transfer
  • International Studies Transfer
  • Journalism Transfer
  • Public Relations and Advertising Transfer
  • World Languages Transfer

Certificate Available In Our Department:

  • World Language Certificate of Proficiency

Visit Campus pictureOnline Classes picture