Girl looking at X-rays, Girl doing chemistry, shot of a keyboard

School of Arts and Sciences

English Department

Mission - English Department
The Mission of the English Department is to cultivate English language development for personal enrichment, intellectual growth, and active citizenship.

Hours & Location
Monday - Friday: 7:30 am - 4:30 pm
Location: Founders Hall 1117
Phone Number: (567) 661-7053

Interim Chair: Ellen Sorg
Office: FH 1042
Phone: (567) 661-2987
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Email: ellen_sorg@Owens.edu

Department Secretary: Kelly Wegener
Location: Founders Hall 1118
Phone Number: (567) 661-7053
Email: kelly_wegener@owens.edu

Full-Time Faculty (Toledo)
  Name Discipline Office Number Email
Mona Bahouth-Kennedy Mona Bahouth-Kennedy Developmental English 1054 mona_bahouthkennedy@owens.edu
  Marge Bartelt Developmental English 1035 margaret_bartelt@owens.edu
  Shelley Beard Developmental English 1062 shelley_beard@owens.edu
  Brian Birt English 1037 brian_birt@owens.edu
  Kay Blue Developmental English 1046 kay_blue@owens.edu
Mike Bode Mike Bode English 1044 michael_bode@owens.edu
Russ Bodi Russ Bodi English 1027 russell_bodi@owens.edu
  Tracy Darr English n/a tracy_darr@owens.edu
Genesis Downey Genesis Downey English 1038 genesis_downey@owens.edu
Mohammed Elnahal Mohammed Elnahal English 1036 mohammed_elnahal@owens.edu
  Tatiana Gorbunova Developmental English 1056 tatiana_gorbunova@owens.edu
  Dave Hawes English 1023 david_hawes@owens.edu
Jen Hazel Jennifer Hazel English 1055 jennifer_hazel@owens.edu
Cory Hoover Cory Hoover English 1041 cory_hoover@owens.edu
  Erin Kramer English n/a erin_kramer@owens.edu
  Marilee Motto English 1031 marilee_motto@owens.edu
  Rick Myers Developmental English 1060 richard_myers@owens.edu
Joy Parker Joy Parker English 1035 joy_parker@owens.edu
Ann-Marie Paulin Ann-Marie Paulin English 1025 annmarie_paulin@owens.edu
Deb Pinkston Deb Pinkston Developmental English 1048 debra_pinkston@owens.edu
Deb Richey Deb Richey English 1061 deborah_richey@owens.edu
  Liz Schroeder Developmental English 1021 elizabeth_schroeder@owens.edu
  Sabrina Schwartz Developmental English 1024 sabrina_schwartz@owens.edu
Jim Shackle Jim Shackle Developmental English 1053 james_shackle@owens.edu
Shannon Smith Shannon Smith English 1022 shannon_smith@owens.edu
Mary Srougi Mary Srougi Developmental English 1039 mary_srougi@owens.edu

 

Full-Time Faculty (Findlay)

  Name Discipline Email
  Sharon Badenhop Developmental English sharon_badenhop@owens.edu
Lucie Biddinger Lucie Biddinger English lucie_biddinger@owens.edu
Susan Burris Susan Burris English susan_burris@owens.edu
  Lori Owens Developmental English lori_owens@owens.edu
  Timothy Rice English timothy_rice@owens.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty (Toledo)
Name Discipline Email
Maha Abduljabbar English maha_abduljabbar@owens.edu
Brittany Adams English brittany_adams@owens.edu
Melissa Avalos Developmental English melissa_avalos@owens.edu
Amira Akl English amira_akl@owens.edu
Bob Beckwith Developmental English robert_beckwith2@owens.edu
Tim Best English timothy_best@owens.edu
Rick Bishop English richard_bishop@owens.edu
Nancy Borer Developmental English nancy_borer@owens.edu
Holly Burnside English holly_burnside@owens.edu
Jody Carroll English jody_carroll@owens.edu
Michael Cherry English michael_cherry@owens.edu
Matt Clark English matthew_clark11@owens.edu
Mark Cuthbertson English mark_cuthbertson@owens.edu
Tracy Darr Developmental English tracy_darr@owens.edu
Alexandra DeRosa English alexandra_derosa@owens.edu
Warren Dick English warren_dick@owens.edu
Aaron Diehr English aaron_diehr@owens.edu
Brenna Dugan English brenna_dugan@owens.edu
Ralph Felzer English ralph_felzer@owens.edu
Karen Fischer English karen_fischer2@owens.edu
Anita Flynn  English anita_flynn@owens.edu
Linda Gilbert English linda_gilbert@owens.edu
Michael Hale English michael_hale@owens.edu
Jo Harmon English mary_harmon@owens.edu
Denise Holmes College Reading denise_holmes@owens.edu
Melanie Jankowski English melanie_jankowski@owens.edu
Amy Jeffers English amy_jeffers@owens.edu
Kevin Jett English kevin_jett@owens.edu
Korinne King English korinne_king@owens.edu
Jim Klein Developmental English james_klein@owens.edu
Amanda Kornacki English amanda_kornacki@owens.edu
Erin Kramer English erin_kramer@owens.edu
Anastasia Krueck-Frahn Developmental English anastasia_krueckfrahn@owens.edu
Larry Levy English laurence_levy@owens.edu
Suzanne Levy English suzanne_levy@owens.edu
Rapheal Lieto English rapheal_lieto@owens.edu
Bo Ljungholm English bo_ljungholm@owens.edu
George Majchrzak English george_majchrzak2@owens.edu
Mary Mandley English mary_mandley@owens.edu
Cathy Meadows English cathy_meadows@owens.edu
Amy McKenzie English amy_mckenzie@owens.edu
Annie Mickey Developmental English ann_mickey2@owens.edu
Rebecca Miller English rebecca_miller7@owens.edu
Dan Myers English dan_myers@owens.edu
Rochelle Nix Developmental English rochelle_nix@owens.edu
Stephanie Opfer Developmental English stephanie_opfer@owens.edu
Stephen Oravec English stephen_oravec@owens.edu
Russ Pitler English russell_pitler@owens.edu
John Poswalk Developmental English john_poswalk@owens.edu
Jade (Courtney) Ramsey English courtney_ramsey@owens.edu
Michelle Rhodes English michelle_rhodes@owens.edu
Diane Routson Developmental English diane_routson@owens.edu
Sean Shannon English sean_shannon@owens.edu
Cindy Smith English cynthia_smith5@owens.edu
George Teague English george_teague@owens.edu
Krista Tomaselli Developmental English krista_tomaselli@owens.edu
Rachel Turnage English rachel_turnage@owens.edu
Stephanie Watson Developmental English stephanie_watson2@owens.edu
Leslie Woityna Developmental English leslie_woityna@owens.edu
Delores Young Developmental English delores_young@owens.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty (Findlay)
  Name Discipline Email
  Cherie Bullock-Myslinsky English cherie_bullockmyslinsky@owens.edu
  Stephen Crow Developmental English stephen_crow2@owens.edu
  Melanie Jankowski English melanie_jankowski@owens.edu
  Bobby Kuechenmeister English bobby_kuechenmeister@owens.edu
  Linda Landes Developmental English linda_landes@owens.edu
  Mary Mason English mary_mason@owens.edu
  Tracey Pritts Developmental English tracey_pritts@owens.edu
  Jack Raymond English jack_raymond@owens.edu
  Ellen Roof English ellen_roof@owens.edu
  Eric Schlich English eric_schlich@owens.edu
  Maria Shrider English maria_shrider@owens.edu
Ellen Sorg Ellen Sorg English ellen_sorg@owens.edu
  Judith Suman Developmental English judith_suman@owens.edu
  Christie Tipton Developmental English christie_tipton@owens.edu
  Megan Umphress Developmental English megan_umphress@owens.edu
  Andrea VanVorhis English andrea_vanvorhis@owens.edu
  Fran Weith Developmental English francis_weith@owens.edu

Courses Taught in the Department

Developmental Courses

  • Writing Process
  • Introduction to College Writing

Entry-Level English Courses


Visit Campus pictureOnline Classes picture