Girl looking at X-rays, Girl doing chemistry, shot of a keyboard

School of Arts and Sciences

Life and Natural Sciences Department

Mission - Life and Natural Sciences Department
The Math, Life and Natural Sciences department provides the mathematics and sciences courses to give students pursuing Arts and Sciences and Technology Associate degrees, current knowledge and relevant skills necessary to be successful in their endeavors. Program concentrations and courses are offered as transfer possibilities to four-year colleges and universities and as employment opportunities.

Hours & Location
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Location: Mathematics/Science Building Suite 141
Phone Number: (567) 661-7770

Department Secretary: Laurene Markis
Office: Mathematics/Science Building Suite 141
Phone Number: (567) 661-7770
Email: laurene_markis@Owens.edu

Chair: Majid Sawtarie
Office: Mathematics/Science Building Room 142
Phone: (567) 661-7771
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Email: majid_sawtarie@Owens.edu

Laboratory Coordinator: Robert Klein
Office: Mathematics/Science Building Room 145
Phone: (567) 661-7756
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Email: Robert_Klein@Owens.edu

Student Workers:
Ben Klein
Cassie Brossia

Faculty
Faculty Discipline Office Email
Paul Adams Physics Science MS 153 Paul_Adams@Owens.edu
April Andrews Biology Science MS 125 April_Andrews@owens.edu
Lesa Beaupry Anatomy & Physiology Science MS 125 Lesa_Beaupry@Owens.edu
Anne Bullerjahn Biology Science MS 163 Anne_Bullerjahn@Owens.edu
Bob Connor Biology EC 115AA Findlay Robert_Connor@Owens.edu
Christopher Foley Land-Turf Science MS 151 Christopher_Foley@Owens.edu
Matthew Gosses Biology EC 115EE Findlay Matthew_Gosses@Owens.edu
Robert Klein Lab Coordinator Science MS 145 Robert_Klein@Owens.edu
Denise Knox Biology Science MS 165 Denise_Knox@Owens.edu
Kiyoung Lee Physics Science MS 156 Kiyoung_Lee@Owens.edu
Julie Maier Biology Science MS 125 Julie_Maier@Owens.edu
Thomas Mika Biology EC 121N Findlay Thomas_Mika@Owens.edu
John Myers Micro Biology Science MS 159 John_Myers@Owens.edu
Maria Ostasz Chemistry Science MS 147 Maria_Ostasz@Owens.edu
Joanne Roehrs Biology Science MS 162 Joanne_Roehrs@Owens.edu
Matt Ross Land Turf. Management Science MS 160 matthew_ross2@Owens.edu
Majid Sawtarie Chairman Science MS 143 Majid_Sawtarie@Owens.edu
Erika Scheufler Physics Science MS 157 Erika_Scheufler@Owens.edu
Jerry Schemerhorn Chemistry Science MS 125 Jerry_Schemerhorn@Owens.edu
Tara Schmoekel Lab Prep Findlay EC 43 B Tara_Schmoekel@Owens.edu
Joanna Smithback Chemistry   joanna_smithback@owens.edu
Ruby White Biology Science MS 141 Ruby_White@Owens.edu


Adjunct Instructors
Adjunct Instructor Course
Randa AwadaBiology, Chemistry
Sandra BeachBiology
Jamal BittarBiology
Gilbert BollinChemistry
Paul BollinChemistry
Thomas BowmanBiology
Laura BryantBiology
Thomas CarrChemistry
James ChamberlainBiology
Kevin CoyneBiology, Mathematics
Michael CunninghamChemistry
Jeffrey CypherBiology
Christopher DavisBiology
Hair DonabedianBiology
Elizabeth DrakeGeology, Mathematics
Abeer El-GharbawyAstronomy, Biology
Noha ElnagarBiology
Robert EmptageBiology
Craig EverettLand Turf Management
Robert FechterChemistry
John B. FisherPhysics
Nathan FriesPhysics
Robert FurlongBiology
James GarmatterPhysics
Michael GlazeClimate & Weather,Geology, Physics
Timothy GloriosoLand Turf Management
Neena GoelMathematics, Physics
Ronald GrimmBiology
Brian HallLand Turfgrass Management
Kevin HalliganBiology
Aaron HammittPhysics
Nicole HaydenChemistry
Eric HaynesBiology, Physics
Pamela HaywoodAstronomy, Biology
Earl HeathAstronomy
Scott HevnerBiology
Orrie HiettClimate&Weather, Physics
Edward HiteMathematics, Physics
Jennifer HofackerBiology
Laura Hughes-WilliamsBiology
Richard JackmanChemistry
Vandana KeniyaChemistry
Holly KimponBiology
William KrohlerBiology
Timothy LeonardChemistry
Julie MaierBiology
Christopher MarloweBiology, Chemistry
Gregory MasonBiology
Julie MathenyBiology
John B. McCainBiology
Rebecca McCannLand Turf Management
Ian McGinnisAstronomy, Physics
Andrew McSweenyBiology
John MontgomeryPhysics, Mathematics
Jody MorrisBiology
Teresa MortemoreChemistry
Maria Muro-SmallChemistry
Lillian NagiBiology
Laura NilssonLand Turf Management
Susan NobletLand Turf Management
Jerold NossChemistry
Paul PassalacquaBiology
Alma PayneChemistry
Zorayda PinaChemistry, Spanish
Sara PoeBiology
David RearichBiology
Matthew RossLand Turf Management
Shivani SapreBiology
Jerry SchermerhornMathematics, Physics
Jill ShalabiPhysics
Alan SkrzynieckiAstronomy, Geology
Bruce SmithChemistry
Eric SmithLand Turf Management
Phillip SmithChemistry
Robert SpainBiology
H. Evan SpencerBiology
Douglas SturtsBiology
Edward TschappatPhysics, IST
Christopher VickersClimate & Weather
Amy WagnerBiology
Sammy WahidyBiology
Barbara WatsonBiology
Kathryn WhiteBiology
Michael WhitmerBiology


Programs Offered

  • AS General
  • AS Biology Transfer
  • AS Chemistry Transfer
  • AS Physics Transfer
  • AS Landscape/Turfgrass Program
  • AS Golf Turfgrass Major
  • AS Pre-Biotechnology Transfer
  • Wildlife Management Certificate

Visit Campus pictureOnline Classes picture