Student in the Library, Graduating Students, Students in the Classroom

Owens Community College Out-of-State Online Students

All colleges, including Owens must adhere to state regulations which regulate the delivery of online education to out-of-state students. These regulations limit Owens' ability to offer online education in some states outside of Ohio.

Owens Community College is currently authorized to offer general distance education programs and courses to residents of the following states:

  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Residents of the following states are NOT eligible to register for online courses or programs at Owens Community College:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • Wyoming

Out-of-State Complaint Process

Owens Community College is committed to resolving student complaints in an expeditious, fair and friendly manner. Owens Online students residing outside of Ohio should resolve complaints with Owens by contacting us at 1-800-GO-OWENS Ext. 7988.

Owens works diligently to find positive outcomes to student concerns. Please try to exhaust all possible avenues of complaint resolution before going outside of the college. However, if a complaint cannot be resolved through Owens processes, you may file a complaint with your state. In compliance with federal Department of Education regulations, Owens provides a list of State Agencies (PDF) with contact information for each state. You may also contact our accrediting agency, The North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, Higher Learning Commission.

If you have questions regarding any out-of-state requirements, please send an email to

Visit Campus pictureOnline Classes picture