The Daily Express

Owens and Ohio State University Sign Transfer Agreement

   Owens Community College Arts and Science graduates now will be able to smoothly transfer to The Ohio State University as juniors under an articulation agreement signed today by officials of the two institutions.

   Continuing to meet head-on the educational needs of area residents, Owens Community College President Daniel H. Brown and Ohio State President Dr. William E. Kirwan signed an agreement creating a seamless transfer system for students from the community college to this four-year institution.

   "One of the strengths of Ohio's system of higher education has always been its diversity," Dr. Kirwan said. "Articulation agreements enable us to improve access for students and ease transfers from community colleges."

   "Now, as partners, Ohio State and Owens Community College can work together to enhance the educational opportunities for a wide group of students," Dr. Kirwan added.

   Owens Community College's change in status in July 1994 from a technical college to a comprehensive community college allows the first two years of a bachelor's degree to be offered, as well as the technical career-oriented associate degrees and certificates the College has specialized in for more than 33 years.

   "The development of this articulation agreement demonstrates the commitment our institutions have to serving the ever-increasing educational needs of our students and our communities throughout Ohio," President Brown said. "These agreements are critical in providing area residents with access to quality higher education at an affordable price."

   This fall, there are 2,135 students enrolled in Owens' Associate of Arts and Associate of Science degree programs.

   Each year, more than 3,600 students transfer to Ohio State from colleges and universities in Ohio and across the country. In fact, nearly one-third of all students receiving bachelor's degrees from Ohio State annually enter as transfer students.

   Owens Community College has signed similar agreements with Ashland University, Bluffton College, Bowling Green State University, Defiance College, Eastern Michigan University, Heidelberg College, Lourdes College, The University of Findlay, Tiffin University, University of Michigan, University of Toledo, Wright State University and Youngstown State University. Owens Community College continues to work with other public and private colleges and universities in Ohio and Michigan to develop additional agreements.

   The Ohio State University consistently ranks among the top national public universities for undergraduate, graduate and professional programs. As a student-centered research university, Ohio State offers 176 undergraduate majors and 220 graduate fields of study. The diverse student body comes to Ohio State from every county in Ohio, every state and nearly every nation in the world.

Owens Home Page
Last modified on: Wednesday, November 25, 1998
Owens Community College Web site maintained by: Rodney Hough.
For comments, email: