The Daily Express

Express Baseball Players Receive Top Conference & Region Honors

  The Owens Community College men's baseball players have received top honors from the Ohio Community College Athletic Conference (OCCAC) and the NJCAA Great Lakes Region 12.

  Pitcher Aaron Franke (Clay High School) was named OCCAC "Player of the Year", as well as First Team All-OCCAC and First Team All-Region 12. Franke joins three other Owens Express student-athletes as the conference's Players of the Year: Amy Amstutz for women's basketball, Jon Powell for men's basketball and Abby Thompson for women's volleyball.

  Franke was nationally ranked in two pitching categories: No. 5 for strikeouts leaders among the NJCAA's Division III teams, setting an Owens record for 79 strikeouts in a season, and No. 3 for his earned run average per game of .94, which also set an Owens record.

  "Aaron's potential is there to continue at the next level - and I know he'll be successful." Head Coach Rich Pivoriunas said. "He has an overpowering fastball and a good outpitch, which is his change-up. I think he's really worked on his mound presence and is becoming a mature player."

  Outfielder Brett Pivoriunas (Eastwood High School) also was named First Team All-OCCAC and First Team All-Region 12. Also named First Team All-Region 12 were pitcher Mike Music (Woodville High School), shortstop Matt Speegle (Whitmer High School) and outfielder Justin Guerrero (Clay High School).

  The Express had an overall record of 21-24 this year.

  Team awards presented by Pivoriunas included: Aaron Franke - MVP; Brett Pivoriunas - Offensive Player of the Year; Mike Music - Coach's Award; Matt Speegle - Golden Glove Award; and Matt Kwiatkowski (Maumee High School) - Most Improved Player of the Year.

Owens Home Page
Last modified on: Friday, May 28, 1999
Owens Community College Web site maintained by: Rodney Hough.
For comments, email: