The Daily Express

Owens Community College Recognizes Employees for Years of Service to the College

Your Success Starts Here

Owens Community College full-time employees recently were honored for continuous years of service as the College hosted its 12th annual Employee Recognition Dinner, Saturday, February 2.

"This event is the College's opportunity to thank Owens employees for their hard work and dedication," said Christa Adams, Ph.D., President of Owens Community College. "Our College's phenomenal growth has been celebrated in the community and state.

"Owens has been recognized as the fastest-growing college in its classification in the United States. When College employees work year after year at Owens, they make a measurable difference in students' lives," President Adams said.

John Bruning of Toledo received the Full-Time Continuous Service Award for having the most years of educational service at the College. A Business and Public Services Technologies Professor, Bruning began teaching Owens students in September 1968.

Pamela Bensman, Owens Part-time Instructor in Health and Physical Education, was named the recipient of the Part-time Employee Award. The Maumee resident was nominated by fellow co-workers and employees of the College.

Among those recognized were 63 Owens employees honored for various years of service to the College.

30 Years of Service
James Lang of Toledo, Associate Professor, Communications/Humanities
Janell Lang of Toledo, Dean, Health Technologies

25 Years of Service
Karen Booth of Sylvania, Professor, Nursing Technology
John Carpenter II of Maumee, Professor, Math & Life/Natural Sciences
Alice Coy of Perrysburg, Counselor
William Ivoska of Perrysburg, Director, Admissions
George Lazar of Walbridge, Professor, Marketing/Management
Charles Mann of Lambertville, Michigan, Vice President, Business Affairs
Shelby Pierce of Maumee, Chair, Communications/Humanities
Mary Thibault of Bowling Green, Professor, Nursing Technology

20 Years of Service
Michael Francis of Whitehouse, Professor, Automotive Technologies
Laurel King of Holland, Cataloger
Roy Marks of Blissfield, Michigan, Chair, Transportation Technologies

15 Years of Service
Glenn Abke of Perrysburg, Professor, Math & Life/Natural Sciences
Allen Barber II of Toledo, Third Shift Custodian
Guenter Brunner of Toledo, Associate Professor, Design Technologies
Louise Estep of Grand Rapids, Director, Compensation/Benefits
Victoria Finnegan of Rossford, Division Secretary, Health Technologies
Marlene Gaudiello of Toledo, Secretary, Admissions
Baher Hanna of Holland, Professor, Math & Life/Natural Sciences
Richard Hausmann of Bowling Green, Associate Professor, Automotive Technologies
Thomas Mika of North Baltimore, Professor, Math & Life/Natural Sciences, Findlay Campus
Jean Priest of Toledo, Division Secretary, Library
Ralph Semrock of Curtice, Associate Professor, Design Technologies
Linda Stacy of Sylvania, Acting Executive Director, Center for Development & Training; Division Director, Workforce Development
Charles Stewart of Ottawa Lake, Michigan, Assistant Professor, Diesel Technology
Jay Taylor of Perrysburg, Instructor, Electrical/Electronics Engineering Technologies

10 Years of Service
Jennifer Bean of Findlay, Supervisor, Business Services, Findlay Campus
Catherine Ford of Oak Harbor, Chair, Radiologic Technologies
Rebecca Hatcher of Maumee, Coordinator, Nursing Skills Lab
Robert Klein of Waterville, Lab Instructional Assistant, Life Sciences
Reed Knowles of Toledo, Associate Professor, Design Technologies
Thomas Metz of Cygnet, Journeyman Maintenance/Findlay Supervisor
Julia Popp of Gibsonburg, Associate Professor, Nursing Technology
James Specht Jr. of Waterville, UNIX Administrator
Barbara Stewart of Maumee, Educational Coordinator, Child Care Center

Five Years of Service
Jennifer Blum of Millbury, Circulation Supervisor
Susan Burris of Bowling Green, Assistant Professor, Communications/Humanities, Findlay Campus
Gene Burson of Perrysburg, Manager, Systems Development
Elizabeth Church of Perrysburg, Director, Public Relations/Marketing
Elizabeth Condon of Toledo, Assistant Professor, Developmental Education
Joseph Conrad of Bowling Green, Director, Health/Wellness Programs
William Evans of Toledo, Third Shift Custodian
Robert Gearhart of Toledo, Journeyman Maintenance Specialist
Bernard Goedde of Leipsic, Assistant Professor, Diesel Technologies
Peter Johns of Oregon, Lab Technician, Manufacturing Technology
Beth Ann Kneisley of Maumee, Chair, Occupational Therapy Assistant Program
James Kronberg of Whitehouse, Director, Special Projects (CDT)
Jennifer Lamping of Bowling Green, Instructor, Social & Behavioral Sciences, Findlay Campus
Thomas McRitchie of Toledo, Lab Technician, Diesel Technologies
Maria Ostasz of Lambertville, Michigan, Instructor, Math & Life/Natural Sciences
Debora Pacewicz of Luckey, Data Entry Specialist, Procurement
Suzanne Purk of Perrysburg, Loan Specialist, Financial Aid Office
Barbara Rardin of Toledo, Coordinator, Compensation
Amy Rehard of Toledo, Billing Specialist
Sivagnanam Sakthivel of Bowling Green, Assistant Professor, Marketing/Management, Findlay Campus
Mark Schanke of Perrysburg, Second Shift Security Supervisor
Elisabeth Scheffert of Toledo, Director, Disability Services
James Sprunk of Perrysburg, Lead Computer Technician
Arclouis Turner Jr. of Rossford, Third Shift Custodian
Dawn Wetmore of Perrysburg, Chair, Nursing/Surgical Technologies
David Winckowski of Oregon, Manager, Auxiliary Services
Kristine Yarcso of Toledo, Secretary, Student Life

Owens Community College is the fastest-growing community college of its size in the nation. On the Toledo-area and Findlay campuses, Owens serves more than 36,000 credit and non-credit students. Owens is committed to offering small classes, personal attention and the lowest tuition in Northwest Ohio. Owens offers over 100 career-oriented programs and majors in Agriculture, Business, Health, Public Service, Skilled Trades, Industrial and Engineering Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor's degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university.

Owens Home Page
Last modified on: Thursday, February 7, 2002
Owens Community College Web site maintained by: Rodney Hough, Carla Striker & Neal Carter.
For comments, email: