The Daily Express

Owens Women's Basketball Opens Season with Two Home Games

Owens Community College women's basketball will open its 2001-2002 campaign with two home contests Saturday and Sunday, November 10-11 against Fanshawe College and Oakland Community College.

The Owens basketball program is guided by first year Head Coach Mark Henry. During the previous five season, Henry served as a Lady Express Assistant Coach under former Head Coach Bill Gomoluch. In addition to his college coaching experience, Henry also has coached several sports at various levels at Summerfield High School in Petersburg, Michigan, including girl's varsity basketball Head Coach from 1986-1990. His Assistant Coach is former Owens basketball player (1996-1998) Emily Kirian.

The Lady Express ended last year with a 24-9 record advancing to the championship games of the Ohio Community College Athletic Conference and NJCAA Region XII tournaments. They finished second in the OCCAC regular season standings with a 10-4 mark.

The Lady Express have eight players returning from last year's team, including leading scorer Sparkle Williams of Ft. Wayne, Indiana (Snyder High School). In 33 games last season, Williams averaged 10.4 points per game. Her postseason honors included OCCAC Second Team All-League selection, as well as being named to the OCCAC All-Tournament and NJCAA Region XII All-District Tournament teams. The other returning player who earned OCCAC All-League honors is Angie Phegley of South Bend, Indiana (Clay High School). She averaged 9.2 points per game.

Other returning players to the Lady Express roster include sophomores: Brandi Winrow of Brownstown, Michigan, (Carlson High School), Tracy Smith of Holgate (Holgate High School), Erin Gallagher of Petersburg, Michigan, (Ida High School), Doye Byrd of South Bend, Indiana, (Clay High School), Sadie Albon of Holland (Springfield High School) and Christa Strube of Monroe, Michigan, (Jefferson High School).

The freshmen players are: Ericka Davis of Dearborn Heights, Michigan, (Robichaud High School), Erin Thomas of Van Wert (Van Wert High School), Shannon Zaborowski of Toledo (Bowsher High School), Ivy Albon of Holland (Springfield High School), Sherita Jackson of Toledo (Start High School), Kari Cory of Blissfield, Michigan, (Blissfield High School) and Rachel Dedrick of St. Mary's (St. Mary's Memorial High School).

For More Information Contact....
Brad Meyer
Public Relations Specialist
(567) 661-7421

Owens Home Page
Last modified on: Monday, October 29, 2001
Owens Community College Web site maintained by: Rodney Hough, Carla Striker & Neal Carter.
For comments, email: