Owens Community College | HOME | PRINTER-FRIENDLY | TEXT-ONLY

About Owens
Campus Events
News Release Archive

News Releases Brad Meyer, Director of Public and Media Relations
Office: (567) 661-7421   Cell: (419) 351-5253

Email this page to a friendemail a friend

Published 5/14/03
Owens Administrative, Faculty and Student Leaders Inducted Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Twenty-four Owens Community College students recently were honored for their excellence in higher education, earning membership into the Alpha Omega Pi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. Inductees also included four Owens faculty members, as well as an administrator and the College's Board of Trustees Chair.

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 by the presidents of eight Missouri junior colleges for women. In 1924, the international organization was expanded to include all two-year colleges. To date, more than one million individuals have been inducted into the international honor society.

The overall mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize academic excellence among two-year college students, provide opportunities for leadership training and an intellectual climate for the interchange of ideas and ideals. The society also continues to promote among its members the four standard hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.

"Owens Community College is extremely proud of our inductees for their dedication and commitment to higher education," said Gerry Bazer, Owens Dean of Arts and Sciences. "Induction into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is considered one of the highest compliments an individual in higher education can receive. Their selection to such a prestigious organization is a tremendous achievement."

Selection criteria for students receiving the prestigious honor is based upon enrollment in a two-year college, completion of the minimum number of course hours set forth by the individual chapter, achieving a minimum 3.8 grade point average and exemplifying academic excellence, as determined by faculty. Honorary members are those who, according to the honor society or the local chapter, have exhibited distinguished service to higher education.

This year's honored faculty members include Douglas Cook of Perrysburg, Professor of Arts and Sciences; Thomas Deckelman of Sylvania, Professor of Business and Public Services Technologies; Gerald Marko of Millbury, Assistant Professor of Industrial and Engineering Technologies, and Patricia Wilcox of Waterville, Professor of Health Technologies. The international honor society also inducted Charles Mann of Lambertville, Michigan, Owens Vice President for Business Affairs, and Jack Sculfort of Perrysburg, Owens Board of Trustees Chair.

The induction ceremony's keynote speaker, Marc Folk, Interim Director of the Arts Commission of Greater Toledo, also was named an honorary member of the international honor society.

The Alpha Omega Pi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society student inductees for the 2002-03 academic year are:
Peg Bakies of Carey (Biology)
Gregory Bamm of Toledo (Industrial and Automation Electronics Major)
John Byers of Grand Rapids (Business Management Technology)
Tennille Dittman of Toledo (Business Management Technology)
Danielle Hart of Toledo (E-Business Technology)
Melissa Hartford of Northwood (Early Childhood Education Technology)
Joseph Kapp of Curtice (Agribusiness Management Technology)
Staci Kreager of Williston (Pre-Business Administration Concentration)
Jennifer Martin of Fostoria (Pre-Radiology Technology)
Sandra Mills of Grand Rapids (Associate of Arts, General Concentration)
Carrie Moore of Sylvania (Dental Hygiene Program)
Cletus Mpofu of Toledo (Pre-Business Administration Concentration)
Sharon Nofzinger of Whitehouse (Business Management Technology)
Marian Overberg of Waterville (Quality Assurance Major)
Gina Philipp of Bowling Green (Registered Nursing Program)
Curtis Recker of Genoa (Associate of Arts, General Concentration)
Patricia Rehard of Perrysburg (Registered Nursing Program)
Crystal Rocque of Maumee (Hospitality Management Technology)
Martha Robinson of Swanton (Dental Hygiene Program)
Scott Roman of Toledo (Skilled Trades Technology, Electrical)
Amy Rose of Monroe, Michigan (Association of Arts, General Concentration)
Michael Schnipke of Cloverdale (Skilled Trades Technology, Mechanical)
Frank Vitale of Ottawa Lake, Michigan (Skilled Trades Technology, Mechanical)
Robert Williams of Mogadore (Caterpillar Dealer Service Technician Program)

Owens Community College is the fastest-growing higher educational institution in Northwest Ohio with 24 consecutive semesters of enrollment increases. On the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses, Owens serves more than 38,000 credit and non-credit students making it the number one choice for new college students. Owens is committed to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability. Owens Community College offers over 130 program areas in Agriculture, Business, Fine and Performing Arts, Health, Public Service, Skilled Trades, Industrial and Engineering Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor 's degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university.


Owens Community College
© 2010 Owens Community College  |  1-800-GO-OWENS
P.O. Box 10,000, Toledo, OH 43699-1947  |  3200 Bright Road, Findlay, OH 45840-3600