Owens Community College | HOME | PRINTER-FRIENDLY | TEXT-ONLY

About Owens
Campus Events
News Release Archive

News Releases Brad Meyer, Director of Public and Media Relations
Office: (567) 661-7421   Cell: (419) 351-5253

Email this page to a friendemail a friend

Published 4/7/2004
Owens Administrative, Faculty, Staff and Student Leaders Inducted Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Fifty-six Owens Community College students recently were honored for their excellence in higher education, earning membership into the Alpha Omega Pi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. Inductees also included four faculty and staff members, as well as an administrator and a member of the College's Board of Trustees.

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 by the presidents of eight Missouri junior colleges for women. In 1924, the international organization was expanded to include all two-year colleges. To date, more than one million individuals have been inducted into the international honor society.

The overall mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize academic excellence among two-year college students, provide opportunities for leadership training and an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals. In addition, the society continues to promote among its members the four standard hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.

"Owens Community College is extremely proud of our inductees for their dedication and commitment to higher education," said Dr. Bruce Way, Owens Dean of Arts and Sciences. "Induction into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is considered one of the highest compliments an individual in higher education can receive. Their selection is a tremendous achievement."

Selection criteria for students receiving the honor is based upon enrollment in a two-year college, completion of the minimum number of course hours set forth by the individual chapter, achieving a minimum 3.8 grade point average and exemplifying academic excellence, as determined by faculty. Honorary members are those who, according to the honor society or the local chapter, have exhibited distinguished service to higher education.

This year's honored faculty members include Barbara Frommer of Toledo, Professor of Health Technologies; Lynda Glanz of Grand Rapids, Instructor of Health Technologies; Mary Kaczinski of Perrysburg, Assistant Professor of Industrial and Engineering Technologies, and Robert Klein of Waterville, Coordinator of Science Labs, Arts and Sciences. The international honor society also inducted Dr. Bruce Way of Toledo, Dean of Arts and Sciences, and John C. Moore of Holland, Owens Board of Trustees member.

The Alpha Omega Pi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society student inductees for the 2003-04 academic year are:

Roy Baker of New London (Biomedical Electronics Major)
Erin Baldasar of Swanton (Health Information Technology)
Jennifer Bandeen of Bowling Green(Associate of Arts, General Concentration)
Sonya Claar of Graytown (Multi-age Education Concentration)
Jason Colwell of Belleville (Caterpillar Dealer Service Technician Program)
Justin Dean of Williston (Architectural Engineering Technology)
Tammy Dew of Toledo (Registered Nursing Program)
Mihail Dobre of Waterville (Associate of Science, General Concentration)
Eric Eisen of Allendale (Caterpillar Dealer Service Technician Program)
Margaret Engel of Toledo (Microcomputer Business Systems Major)
Penni Fields of Toledo (Corrections Major)
Michelle Fritsch of Tiffin (Registered Nursing Program)
Martina Hanulova of Rossford (Associate of Arts, General Concentration)
John Hartman of Toledo (Associate of Science, General Concentration)
Sarah Haynes of Bluffton (Registered Nursing Program)
Stephen Hill of Findlay (Associate of Arts, General Concentration)
Susan Hogan of Findlay (Marketing and Sales Technology)
Debra Hopkins of Toledo (Registered Nursing Program)
Michael Kachenmeister of Toledo (History Concentration)
Mecca Keener of Toledo (Pre-Radiography Major)
Phillip Kessler of Wauseon (Fire Science Technology)
Eric King of Muskegon (Caterpillar Dealer Service Technician Program)
Sean King of Leipsic (Business Management Technology)
Shilas Kromenacker of Toledo (Dental Hygiene Program)
Erin Kronberg of Whitehouse (Physical Therapist Assistant Program)
Susan Lasher of Napoleon (Radiography Major)
Laura Lauer of Gibsonburg (Pre-Business Administration Concentration)
Mark McDonough of Bowling Green (Criminal Justice Technology)
Faith McGlown of Toledo (Communication Art Concentration)
Seth Miller of Perrysburg (Associate of Science, General Concentration)
Vivian Miller of Toledo (Diagnostic Medical Sonography Major)
Nathan Morman of Ottawa (Mechanical Engineering Technology)
Andrew Mrkva of Sylvania (Associate of Science, General Concentration)
Masooma Naqvi of Sylvania (Associate of Science, General Concentration)
Danielle Neal of Toledo (Psychology Concentration)
Danielle Ottensman of Perrysburg (Skilled Trades Technology)
Teresa Pangle of Rossford (Associate of Arts, General Concentration)
Laura Peters of Lambertville (Registered Nursing Program)
Holly Ramoz of Findlay (Dental Hygiene Program)
Cheryl Rehan of Fremont (Radiography Major)
Debra Repolesk of Weston (Registered Nursing Program)
Jessica Rosales of Toledo (Pre-Business Administration Concentration)
Autumn Ross of Perrysburg (Musical Performance Concentration)
Nancy Savage of Grand Rapids (Registered Nursing Program)
Sarah Sears of Toledo (Occupational Therapy Assistant Program)
Laura Selmek of Oregon (Associate of Arts, General Concentration)
Connie Slupecki of Maumee (Registered Nursing Program)
Shellie Theiss of Toledo (Sociology Concentration)
Shalina Virani of Toledo (Photography Concentration)
Stephen Walbolt of Toledo (Architectural Engineering Technology)
Alisa Wentz of Findlay (Retailing Management Option)
Jennifer White of Toledo (Associate of Science, General Concentration)
JoAnna Williams of Holland (Office Administration Technology)
Shawn Wittkop of Toledo (Registered Nursing Program)
Regina Woodson of Toledo (Registered Nursing Program)
Tammi Zachrich of Defiance (Diagnostic Medical Sonography Major)

Owens Community College is the fastest-growing higher educational institution in Ohio with 27 consecutive semesters of enrollment increases. On the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses, Owens serves more than 44,000 credit and non-credit students making it the number one choice for Northwest Ohio college students. Owens is committed to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability. Owens Community College offers over 130 program areas in Agriculture, Business, Fine and Performing Arts, Health, Public Service, Skilled Trades, Industrial and Engineering Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor's degree with a smooth transfer to any area four- year college or university.


Owens Community College
© 2010 Owens Community College  |  1-800-GO-OWENS
P.O. Box 10,000, Toledo, OH 43699-1947  |  3200 Bright Road, Findlay, OH 45840-3600