Owens Community College | HOME | PRINTER-FRIENDLY | TEXT-ONLY

About Owens Community College, Toledo and Findlay, Ohio
Campus Events
Fine and Performing Arts
News Release Archive

News Releases Brad Meyer, Director of Public and Media Relations
Office: (567) 661-7421   Cell: (419) 351-5253

Email this page to a friendemail a friend

Published 5/3/2005

Owens Student Leaders Inducted Into Spring Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society

Over eighty Owens Community College students recently were honored for their excellence in higher education, earning membership into the Alpha Omega Pi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. Owens' chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is the third largest in Ohio.

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 by the presidents of eight Missouri junior colleges for women. In 1924, the international organization was expanded to include all two-year colleges. To date, more than one million individuals have been inducted into the international honor society.

The overall mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize academic excellence among two-year college students, provide opportunities for leadership training and an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals. In addition, the society continues to promote among its members the four standard hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.

"Owens Community College is extremely proud of our spring inductees for their dedication and commitment to higher education," said Chuck Bohleke, Owens Chair of Business Technologies. "Induction into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is considered one of the highest compliments an individual in higher education can receive. Their selection is a tremendous achievement."

Selection criterion for students receiving the honor is based upon enrollment in a two-year college, completing a minimum number of course hours set forth by the individual chapter, achieving a minimum 3.5 grade point average and exemplifying academic excellence, as determined by faculty. Honorary members are those who, according to the honor society or the local chapter, have exhibited distinguished service to Phi Theta Kappa.

The Alpha Omega Pi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society student inductees for the 2005 Spring Semester are:

Donald R. Akins of Perrysburg (pre-business administration)
Lee A. Alford of Toledo (business management)
Andrea M. Amonette of Perrysburg (pre-nursing)
Brian M. Anderson of Fostoria (fire science technology)
Walter B. Anderson of Maumee (associate of arts - general concentration)
Elena V. Baechle of Toledo (commercial art technology)
Lorena M. Baird of Findlay (associate of arts - general concentration)
Catherine A. Bohnert of Toledo (undecided)
Brandon A. Bollin of Toledo (microcomputer business systems)
Teri L. Boros of Oregon (biology)
Joshua A. Conley of Bradner (supervision)
Tara L. Cook of Fremont (pre-radiography)
Jody L. Cortez of Oregon (business management)
Scott L. Crawford of Fostoria (education paraprofessional)
Sarah E. Curtis of Toledo (pre-radiography)
Susan A. Deutschman of Sylvania (health information technology)
Brenda M. Dressel of Swanton (associate of arts - general concentration)
Amanda L. Evans of Forest (dental hygiene program)
Sandra K. Gargac of Toledo (pre-radiography)
Stephanie Gorshoff of Oregon (office administration)
Kelly L. Gosche of Tiffin (occupational therapy assistant program)
Michael A. Greene of Perrysburg (associate of arts - general concentration)
Ryan R. Griffin of Temperance, Mich. (commercial art technology)
Jeanne R. Halsey of Toledo (medical coding certificate)
Freda E. Hanley of Fostoria (office administration)
Ellen J. Harbaugh of Toledo (health information technology)
Kerri L. Harding of Toledo (fine art)
James W. Howard of Waterville (adolescence education)
Donna J. Hughes of Toledo (pre-business administration)
Carol L. Johnston of Toledo (registered nursing program)
Lisa A. Joseph of Toledo (radiography)
Briana M. Kasza of Toledo (undecided)
Christina L. Krontz of Toledo (physical therapist assistant program)
Sylvia LaCourse of Toledo (registered nursing program)
Kenneth J. Lee of Tiffin (supervision)
William J. Leslie of Oregon (associate of arts - general concentration)
D. Alan Livesay of Findlay (SMAW welding certificate)
Angela M. Lucia of Toledo (early childhood education)
Thomas B. Mahas of Millbury (music education)
Katie L. Mapes of Oak Harbor (associate of arts - general concentration)
Elise G. Marks of Toledo (early childhood education technology)
Daniel R. McAdoo of Toledo (associate of arts - general concentration)
Marcella A. McKinnon of Carey (accounting)
Dean A. Meek of Perrysburg (registered nursing program)
Gloria J. Merrill of Grand Rapids (medical office support option)
April S. Miller of Swanton (history)
Kenneth R. Miller of Sandusky (web development option)
Aaron J. Nieschwitz of Toledo (registered nursing program)
Gael L. Paterson of Toledo (registered nursing program)
Kristen M. Pratt of Toledo (associate of arts - general concentration)
Ashley L. Randall of Maumee (registered nursing program)
Terrie S. Richardson of Northwood (psychology)
Maria C. Rivera of Toledo (pre-occupational therapy assistant program)
Kelly L. Robinson-Busdicker of Toledo (pre-nursing)
Roy W. Robleski Jr. of Elmore (networking and information systems support)
Carolyn A. Roche of Findlay (registered nursing program)
James R. Rudes of Millbury (undecided)
Heather N. Schmidt of Perrysburg (criminal justice technology)
Angela G. Schneider of Sylvania (sociology)
Jillian N. Settlemire of Hamler (registered nursing program)
Carlye M. Seybold of Toledo (associate of arts - general concentration)
Alkan Y. Sezginis of Northwood (undecided)
Mohamed R. Shabana of Toledo (e-business)
Shanah F. Shabazz of Toledo (computer programming)
Sheryl A. Snyder of Toledo (medical office support option)
Elizabeth S. Stewart of Toledo (registered nursing program)
Kevin J. Tate of Toledo (radiography)
Jeri L. Taube of Maumee (undecided)
Matthew W. Thorn of Perrysburg (commercial art technology)
Melissa R. Thrush of Sylvania (dental hygiene program)
Candace M. Tubbs of Maumee (business management)
Willetta P. Tucker of Toledo (hospitality management program)
Kelly A. Vogelpohl of Toledo (associate of arts - general concentration)
Hope M. Wakawa of Sylvania (fine art)
Vince R. Ward of Continental (wide-area networking technology)
Elizabeth A. Welber of Toledo (pre-business administration)
Diane K. Wensink of Rudolph (registered nursing program)
Sara S. Wensink of Custar (associate of arts - general concentration)
Keegan M. Witt of Swanton (undecided)
Makilah R. Witt of Swanton (undecided)
Daniel S. Woodfeld of Toledo (associate of arts - general concentration)
Sara L. Wright of Bradner (commercial art technology)
Jon M. Zabowski of Neapolis (electrical/electronics technology)
Rebecca A. Zimmerman of Perrysburg (medical office support option)

Owens Community College is one of the fastest-growing higher educational institutions in Ohio. On the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses, Owens serves more than 45,000 credit and non-credit students making it the number one choice for Northwest Ohio college students. Owens is committed to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability. Owens Community College offers over 130 program areas in Agriculture, Business, Fine and Performing Arts, Health, Public Service, Skilled Trades, and Industrial and Engineering Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor's degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university.


Owens Community College
© 2010 Owens Community College  |  1-800-GO-OWENS
P.O. Box 10,000, Toledo, OH 43699-1947  |  3200 Bright Road, Findlay, OH 45840-3600