IRB Member Composition

The IRB is composed of at least 5 but not more than 11 voting members. All appointments are made by the Chief Academic Officer and reported to U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP).

The IRB Administrator, a non-voting member of the IRB, is appointed by the Chief Academic Officer and is responsible for the overall management of the IRB.

The IRB is composed of members with varying backgrounds and expertise in special areas to provide complete and adequate review of the research. Committee members should possess not only broad specific competence sufficient to comprehend the nature of the research, but also other competencies necessary for judgments as to acceptability of the research in terms of OSCC regulations, relevant law, ethical standards, and standards of professional practice.

To view the biography of an IRB member, click on his/her name.

IRB Officers:

IRB Members:

IRB Officials

Institutional Official (has responsibility for research oversight at OSCC): Denise S. Smith, Ph.D., Provost/Vice President of Academic Affairs.